AAU It Services

commit

Committing your changes

Committing is the act of finalising your changes for a revision of the repository and pushing those changes to the central server. Although not required, it is highly recommended to tie a general message about your changes to the revision log. This will make it easier for other users (or yourself) to track changes across revisions instead of manually handling diffs between files.

A commit window is displayed, allowing you to review the files that have been modified. You can also add a message to the revision. A short, useful summary of the changes in this revision should be written to aid others when they retrieve your changes.

When you are satisfied with the commit, click OK.

You may be requested to type in your credentials. This is your full AAU email address and itspassword.

Optionally, you can save these credentials for later use, saving time during SVN operations.


Depending on the state of the repository, one of two things will happen. If no changes have been committed to the central repository since your last commit, the changes be pushed without issue. However, if a newer revision than the one you have worked on has been committed, your commit will fail. This is commonly the case if you try to commit without first updating from the server in order to merge any newer changes into your copy.

If your commit succeeded, click OK and continue your work. If it failed, however, you will need to first update your copy, resolve any potential conflicts and finally commit once more.

 

To initiate a commit, right-click any managed file (or the folder itself), and click Commit.