AAU It Services

Update

Updating your working copy

When multiple users work with the repository, or even if you work alone but on different computers, you will need to regularly update your working copy, pulling down and merging all new changes from the server. The main point of course is to receive all new data that has been committed by other users, but also to reduce the risk of conflicts between revisions. In general, the longer since your last update, the greater the risk of trying to commit to a file that has been changed.

To begin, right-click any file or folder under version control and click on Update (Kdesvn).

You may be requested to type in your credentials. This is your full AAU email address and its password.

Optionally, you can save these credentials for later use, saving time during SVN operations.

If the update is possible without conflicting with your current changeset, you will see a completion image similar to the one below. Click OK and you can continue working or committing a change of your own.

Conflicts

If a newer update would change a file you are working on, you will instead see an image like the one below. Read the conflict guide for steps to resolve the issue.